Spontaneous Sunday

Today I woke up and didn’t know what to do with myself since I didn’t have to study for the praxis (which by the way is over with, but I don’t find out my score for 4 long weeks, ugh)! It was a very weird feeling. I immediately texted Ian and asked if he and Olive would come visit me for the day : ). A few hours later, they were here! Olive was very excited to see me. So much in fact, that she peed a little…oops! Good thing I greeted them outside.

For lunch, we decided to go to Carl’s Deli in Hyde Park-a local place that sells over 30 kinds of sandwiches, salads, soups, beer, wine, and cheese. They have room to eat inside or outside, but we decided to take our food and eat at a nearby park.

I got a veggie sandwich-with scallion cream cheese and ranch on wheat. It was okay- I don’t think it needed ranch but I wanted to try something new. I should have stuck with the roasted red pepper hummus and veggie sandwich.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ian got roast beef, egg salad, lettuce, tomato and onion on rye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Olive enjoyed dog watching while we ate.

 

 

 

 

After our nice, but chilly, picnic-we went off on a hike!

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was a little muddy, but we had a lot of fun. I looove hiking. I can’t wait until the leaves start growing back on the trees so everything doesn’t look so dead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

excuse my nerdy gym shoes and skinny jeans. Ian was making fun of me because I had boots on but then changed my shoes when we decided to hike. He said only I would have a pair of shoes in my car for a spontaneous hiking trip (I live out of my car).

 

Olive found a big stick about half-way through the hike and carried it all the way back : ).

 

 

 

 

 

After the hike, I was reallyyyyy thirsty, from a mixture of last night’s celebratory activities and the hike. We grabbed a drink and then headed to AT&T!!! My blackberry needed to be retired. So I decided to buy myself an early birthday/graduation present. Iphone time : )  I am so excited! Ian turned me into a lover of all apple products. I honestly don’t know how I ever put up with my old crappy lap top in college. I love the Iphone already.

Then we headed back to my house to play with the phone and relax for a bit.

 

 

 

Olive had fun looking out the window and exploring a new place. She has only been to my house in Cincinnati once when she was a little puppy.

 

 

Before Ian and Olive had to head back home, we got some Thai take out from Wild Ginger.

I got red curry with tofu. I love me some curry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ian got yellow curry with chicken.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We both thought the curry was delicious, a perfect meal to end the weekend. I am so happy I got to see them this weekend. Only 3 more days and I will get a little mini break! Now off to watch the Social Network with my roommate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spontaneous Sunday

  1. DiningAndDishing says:

    Love the name of your blog – and your puppy is just adorable! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. hippierunner says:

    The curry has such big tofu chunks! Yum! I want some! And you totally rock the skinny jeans/hiking shoes look! 😉

Leave a Reply

