taqueria mixtecha

The weather is getting warmer finally, spring is here!

Friday, I was craving some skinny girl margaritas. And mexican, like always. I also wanted to go out for dinner since it was Friday, Friday, Friday, and I wanted to go somewhere new! I did a quick search on urbanspoon, and came across a place near downtown Dayton, Taqueria Mixtecha. I’d never heard of it, but the reviews were good, so Ian and I headed out. When we first pulled up, we were very skeptical. It is kind of located in the ghetto, and there is a drive-thru.

The inside wasn’t much to look at either. Think hard plastic booths, and dirty paper menus. But the service, authenticity, and food was AMAZING! Seriously.

Free chips and salsa. The salsa was delicious, and just the right amount of spice for me. A little too spicy for Ian, he’s a wimp.

…And then I spotted a scrunchie, and had to take a picture because it reminded me of my favorite episode of Sex and the City.

We ordered our food. The prices were SO CHEAP I didn’t know what to do with myself. Ridiculously cheap. I was in heaven. The only problem, no alcohol.

I finally decided on the veggie burrito, but it didn’t seem right to order a $2.95 dinner, so I went for the big one. $4.25, big spender!

This thing would put Chipotle’s burritos to shame. It was ginormous. Bigger than my head. The waitress laughed at me when she saw my expression as she brought the food to the table. It was sooooo good. I could barely eat half, and then I was uncomfortably full, and I can eat A LOT.

Had to get a side of guac too.

Ian got two kinds of tacos: chicken and pork.

He was stuffed too. Their portions are HUGE.

We will definitely be going back there. Maybe even through the drive-thru! I’ll try to remember my scrunchie next time.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to taqueria mixtecha

  1. That looks great. Every time I see good looking Mexican it makes me miss living in California. (I know that’s not where you are, but still.)

  2. Bethany @ One Girl's Taste on Life says:

    First off…I LOVE Sex and the City. It and Friends are my all time favorite shows. AND I just watched the scrunci episode a few days ago. Lol

    Second, have you tried Cazadores in Franklin? It’s my favorite! Not as cheap but uber authentic. I’m not sure where you actually live or if that’s close but I thought I’d mention it. 🙂

    • I have not tried Cazadores. I have never even heard of it, I will have to try it out, thanks! I am actually all over the place right now. I grew up in Vandalia, north of dayton. I technically still live in Cincinnati, I’m finishing up grad school-will be done in June. And my boyfriend lives in the Kettering area, so that is where I spend most of my weekends! And in June, I will be moving to Tipp City/Troy area, haha.

  3. Ellie says:

    haha it’s funny how the ghettoest places are actually the yummiest sometimes!! 😀

  4. hippierunner says:

    Hahaha, big spender! “It didn’t seem right to order a 2.95 dinner”. Yum, I want a huge burrito like that now! Hey by the way, the dark chocolate almond milk is nothing special; I just tasted it and it’s kinda thick. I prefer making my own- adding to chocolate syrup to vanilla!

  5. Love that the place had a drive-thru! Now I’m really craving guacamole! 🙂

  6. Woah, those prices are crazy cheap! And the food looks delicious! Also, I was JUST watching that episode of sex and the city the other day. So funny! A scrunchie!?

Leave a Reply

