the season for white

This weekend I hit up Trader Joe’s and bought a case of wine.

10% discount on cases. I bought six different kinds, 6 for me, and 6 for my mom. Even though the box says Charles Shaw, I did not buy two buck chuck (yuck). I did however buy $2.99 Trebbiano! I am a frugalista, or cheap, whichever way you want to put it. I don’t think you need to pay a million dollars for a nice bottle of wine.

This past weekend’s weather was lovely and warm, and on Saturday night I only had one thing on my mind, white wine! I’m a red wine in winter, white wine in summer kind of girl.

I didn’t know which one to choose.

I finally chose the grigio luna, because I thought the bottle was the prettiest. That is usually how I pick out my wines. That and if they are under $10, I am sold.

The wine tasted sooo good. I don’t know if it was because it was my first white of the season, the weather was so perfect, the price was right, or the wine was just that fabulous. Actually I think it was just fabulous because I had some more on Sunday and it tasted just as good. I suggest you try it if you like pinot grigio. Pinot Grigio is my favorite white wine.

I will let you know how the other wines turn out. I think I have tried the Contadino before but I don’t remember what it tasted like so it must not have been very memorable.

I also bought one red, which I will probably drink this weekend because it is supposed to be cold and rainy, blah.

Again, I chose this one because I thought the bottle was pretty. That and it had coco in the name.

Last but not least!

This wine is the perfect picnic wine. Light and sparkly and only 9% alcohol.

Cheers

This entry was posted in wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the season for white

  1. badesjarlais says:

    Love wine. My favorite is Chateau St. Michelle Reisling. 🙂

  2. I definitely choose wine by what the bottle looks like, too! 🙂

  3. $2.99. That’s insanity. You’d never find wine that cheap here in Canada. I’ve never seen anything less than $9.

Leave a Reply

