queen of quinoa

try to say that 5 times fast.

Quinoa, a “grain” high in protein, amino acids, antioxidants.

I’ve eaten white quinoa before, but never cooked with it. I wanted to make a quinoa salad, and came across red quinoa at the store. Until then, I had only heard of white quinoa, but after doing some research I found out there is a red and black quinoa too. I think the red quinoa is more earthier/nuttier/stronger tasting than the white quinoa. I decided to give the red quinoa a whirl, and I liked the outcome but I’m still not sure which one I like more.


adapted from oh she glows

Red Quinoa Salad:

1 cup red quinoa

1 can black beans

~7 oz. (half a can) fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 of a red onion, thinly sliced

1 cup of corn

Dressing:

~4 tbsp lime juice

1/4 cup evoo

2 cloves of garlic

1 tsp cumin

crushed red pepper to taste, I put a lottt

s + p to taste

Directions:

1. Cook 1 cup Red Quinoa according to package directions.

2. Chop vegetables and prepare dressing

3. When quinoa is done cooking, fluff with a fork and let it cool to room temperate

4. Add beans, vegetables and dressing. Enjoy!


Healthy and easy peasy.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to queen of quinoa

  1. Oh I want to try the red! I didn’t know the flavors differed and now I’m intrigued. love the salad- looks delish!

  2. Yum! I didn’t know that there were different kinds of quinoa either! I’d like to try those out!!

  3. Pingback: there is always room for wine |

Leave a Reply

