spaghetti pie

Isn’t it nice when your mom brings you over dinner, spaghetti pie to be exact, for no reason?

I think she maybe just wanted her food to be on my blog.

Just kidding : )

But really, it was nice.

The weekend was spent catching up, and it felt so nice to wake up Monday morning to a clean house.

Anyways, back to the spaghetti pie…

One of my favorites that I haven’t had since I became a vegetarian. My mom substituted mushrooms for ground beef. Ian and I practically ate the whole pie by ourselves.

Cooked whole wheat spaghetti, 2 tbsp butter, ~1/3 cup of parm, and 2 beaten eggs makes the crust. Then 1 cup light cottage cheese, ~ 1 jar of spaghetti sauce, and slightly cooked fresh mushrooms make the pie. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes, sprinkle ~ 1/2 cup cheese on top and bake for another 5 minutes. I think it would also be good with some black olives…and maybe some fresh basil? But it was yum yumm as is.

My mom even brought us a salad!

Strawberries and walnuts, with balsamic dressing.

Enjoyed with a glass of wine, and House Hunters International!

Now somebody tell me why I am more comfortable seeing an ICU patient than a 3-year-old articulation kid?

This entry was posted in family, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to spaghetti pie

  1. Lauren says:

    That salad looks amazing and so does the spaghetti pie (minus the mushrooms).

  2. hippierunner says:

    I’ve never heard of spaghetti pie but it looks so good and is making me hunggrrrry!

  3. specialkphd says:

    BEcause those 3 year olds are so unpredictable, and you have to work hard to maintain their motivation…the ICU is a captive audience. But I love your span…I work as a pediatric psychologist and have a multidisciplinary clinic with SLPs…one is my best friend…Glad I found this place…

  4. Cait's Plate says:

    That’s SUCH a creative idea! I never would have thought of that but it looks delish. Love the Coors Light in that photo – haha. So something my boyfriend would do!

  5. Spaghetti pie?! That’s genius. Definitely want to make that in the near future – a.k.a right now. Yum!

  6. Kaylee Zoe says:

    That. Salad. Looks. Amazing! I haven’t had a goood salad in a long time! And I’m assuming that’s Ian’s beer on the table? lol Tell him to man up and funnel that! haha

  7. Lisa says:

    looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

