hummus + pasta

It’s been a productive little Sunday. Slept in this morning…cleaned up the house a bit and then joined a gym! It was nice getting back in the pool to swim some laps. The first 10 or so laps were a little torturous but then I got into the swing of things, and actually knocked out my usual 100 laps. Whew!

Tonight’s plans are making dinner….having a glass of wine, and a phone date with one of my very best friends who lives in Chicago!

We’re getting some much needed rain here, so I thought a comfort summer pasta dish sounded good. Plus I need some carbs to refuel!

I’ve seen some hummus pasta dishes floating around and decided to make a recipe of my own.

Ingredients

  • 12 oz short pasta (I used farfalle)
  • 1 cup frozen artichokes
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes
  • 10 oz. fresh or frozen spinach (I used fresh)
  • fresh garlic to taste
  • 1 small can of black olives
  • 2 cups hummus (plus pasta water and/or lemon juice to liquify)
  • top with parsley and crushed red pepper

You could also substitute any vegetables or add your favorite protein.

Directions:

  1.  Cook pasta according to package directions
  2.  Sauté, spinach, artichokes, tomatoes and garlic with some evoo
  3. Drain pasta (save about one cup of pasta water)
  4. Add olives to vegetables, mix vegetables and pasta
  5. Cover pasta with hummus ( I used Sabra pine nut) and pasta water, mix thoroughly
  6. Add parsley, shredded parmesan (I forgot to add this, and it didn’t need it!), and crushed red pepper if you like a little spice

Enjoy with a glass of Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc.

Yum.


This entry was posted in food, olive, wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hummus + pasta

  1. sandy says:

    looks yummy!

  2. Diana says:

    pasta with hummus sauce, sounds pretty decent.

  3. Tiff says:

    Yum! Why have I not thought to put hummus with pasta??? Sounds like a good match.

Leave a Reply

