easy vegetable soup

What is it about cutting up vegetables that is so cathartic?!

Oh, is that just me?

I love cutting up vegetables. I may not be safe with a knife and I may not be able to feel my fingers (stress makes my fingers go numb), but after a good onion chopping I feel so much better!

I was craving soup for dinner. I loooove soup. So easy, so fast, my kind of meal.

I basically chopped up all the veggies I had on hand, which wasn’t much.

Ingredients:

  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 cup cooked green lentils
  • 4 cups veg broth
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • s and p to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, heat the olive oil, garlic, and onion over medium high heat until onion is translucent. Add carrots and cook for an additional 3-5 minutes. (I don’t like mushy carrots so I only cooked them for a few minutes). Add the vegetable broth, water, lentils, tomatoes, and spices. Lower heat and simmer for ~30 minutes before serving, the longer the better! Optional add ins: mushrooms, spinach, zucchini and/or celery. Can’t go wrong with vegetable soup!

Ian even liked it!

Success!

Goes good with a glass of red wine : )

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to easy vegetable soup

  1. Ok – your first sentence has me saying “YES!”

    Recently I have loved the pre-making of dinner. The chopping and roasting of veggies is SO relaxing. I say “pre-making” because I have gotten in the habit of pre-roasting veggies for dinner. That way when hunger strikes I am not irritable AND sweating in my non-airconditioned Spanish kitchen. Sometimes it’s the little things 🙂

  2. stinkandhincks says:

    This soup looks great! I found you on Tina’s blog about blogger meet ups, and of course yours stood out as the ONLY one (other than mine!) that is from Ohio. Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

