NYE dinner

success!

our hike, not so much. Ian and I were both feeling a little under the weather, but wanted to get out of the house to do something. I looked up a nearby “hiking” trail and we persuaded Olive to join us.

I packed us pesto, roasted red pepper, tofurkey, cucumber and cheese sandwiches and a Yuengling for fun!

We parked and ate our lunch in front the “waterfalls”.

We walked  for 2 minutes, hit a no trespassing sign and walked back to our car :(.

Dinner made up for the crappy hike.

tzatziki and carrot sticks

fennel, almond, olive, fig and grape salad

mushroom gruyere tart (Ian said this was the best thing I have ever made!), inspired by a recipe Ian’s mom sent me a year ago but I could not find it anywhere! Google search to the rescue.

It is pretty simple to make.

Dough=1 refridgerate pie crust, folded over, brushed with egg wash

Mushroom filling:

  • 12 oz wild mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • heaping tbsp of chopped fresh thyme (would have been good with rosemary too)
  • ~tbsp olive oasis olive oil
  • s and p to taste
  • béchamel sauce:
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1  cup warm milk
  • 4 oz grated gruyere cheese
  • * I didn’t end up putting in all of the sauce, just about 3/4 of it*

and for dessert….

inspired vegan chocolate mousse,  made with silken tofu, semisweet chocolate, agave nectar/maple syrup, unsweetened cocoa powder,  vanilla and a splash of almond milk, sprinkled with raspberries and sugar. I was weirded out at first because of the tofu,  and I thought I could taste it, but it still tasted good. Ian said he LOVED it. (I didn’t tell him there was tofu in it until the very end). He said he wants me to make it again.

Happy NEW YEAR!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYE dinner

  1. hippierunner says:

    Ooh I love chocolate tofu mousse! Too bad about the no trespassing sign. Happy New Year!

  2. That sounds like the best New Year’s Eve menu ever! Wish I could say the same about mine but we did have a crudete, and that was the end of the healthy food. 🙂

  3. stinkandhincks says:

    That pizza/tart looks AMAZING. I don’t know if my carniverous boyfriend will eat it though unless I load it up with some protein…

Leave a Reply

